EU Elections

European Parliament elections

European Parliament elections are due to take place in the UK on Thursday 23 May.

If you are over 18 and wish to vote in the elections, you must be registered to vote by midnight on Tuesday 7 May 2019. If you’re not already registered, go to

These elections are held every five years in all the European Union states. The UK is represented by 73 MEPs. Under a system of proportional representation with the UK being divided into 12 regions. There are 10 MEPs for the South East region. All 10 will represent each person resident to the South East.

To vote in these elections you must be:

  • Registered by Tuesday 7 May
  • Aged 18 or over
  • A British, qualifying Commonwealth, or European Union citizen (EU citizens need to complete a form stating they are choosing to vote in the UK)
  • Either resident in Brighton & Hove or a UK citizen formerly registered in Brighton & Hove but living abroad
  • EU citizens living in Brighton & Hove need to complete a form stating they are choosing to vote in the UK

If you’re a citizen of a European Union country (other than the UK, Republic of Ireland, Malta and Cyprus), you can either vote in the UK or in your home country. You can’t vote twice.

To vote in the UK, you need to:

  • Be registered to vote
  • Complete a form stating you wish to vote in the UK and not in your home country
  • Forms have been sent to all currently registered to vote European Union citizens. Completed forms can be returned by post in the prepaid envelope or by email. You must return the form by 7 May 2019.

Alternatively, you can download the form from the Electoral Commission’s website.

Plan ahead so you don’t lose your vote

If you won’t be able to get to your polling station:

  • Apply for a postal vote by Wednesday 8 May
  • Apply for a proxy vote by Wednesday 15 May

Find out more at:

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.