Orbital release new material, with tour dates this year

Titans of techno and long-time heavyweights of the electronic scene Orbital have announced they’re back for good – with new music and an upgrade of the legendary live show that transformed festivals across the world.

Reunited brothers Paul and Phil Hartnoll released their new single, Tiny Foldable Cities on 11 May. An intricate piece of electro-hypnotica, it restates why Orbital have remained at the cutting edge of electronic music for so long.

Their first new album in five years – the one even fans wondered if they’d ever hear – called Monsters Exist is out 14 Sept. The album is said to be more classically structured than their previous release Wonky, drawing inspiration from the international political landscape all the way back from Paul and Phil’s pre-rave squat-punk roots right up to the volatile tensions and erratic rhetoric of today.

After a long break from music, it can become a lot more difficult to get back to where you left off. “When you haven’t made an album in five years it just comes tumbling out,” says Paul. “Because of the global situation I was torn between writing a really aggressive Crass-type album that says, ‘Fuck The Man!’ or going back to rave sensibilities.

“The master plan for this one, is to make a bloody good album. And then see what happens.” 

The duo are set to headline several shows across the country, including the BBC 6Music Biggest Weekend in Belfast on May 25. Further headline shows include Camp Bestival, Beat-Herder, Dekmantel, Margate Dreamland, Dublin BeatYard and Brighton Racecourse.

Paul and Phil have put their surprisingly bitter break-up in 2012 behind them and have come together to rebuild one of electronic music’s best-loved partnerships. Driven apart by music’s strange and infamous brother-vs-brother dynamic, the two brothers didn’t speak for five years after the ‘Wonky’ tour ended.

“It was silly really,” says Paul. “We’re brothers and business partners and creative partners, so we were three times as likely to fall out. But in the end, we had to remind ourselves that Orbital is something we’re really proud of and that we love doing it.”

With the announcement of their new album ‘Monsters Exist’, released on September 14, the duo that defined the modern festival are back on the scene, with an aim to take their signature sound forward into a new and fascinating phase.

Monsters Exist is out September 14 via ACP Recordings on CD, 2CD, 2LP, 4LP Box Set & digital. Pre-order herehttps://Orbital.lnk.to/MonstersExist


Standard CD / Deluxe Edition Disc 1

  1. Monsters Exist
    2. Hoo Hoo Ha Ha
    3. The Raid
    4. P.H.U.K.
    5. Tiny Foldable Cities
    6. Buried Deep Within
    7. Vision OnE
    8. The End Is Nigh
    9. There Will Come A Time (Featuring Prof. Brian Cox)

    Deluxe Edition Disc 2

    1. Kaiju
    2. A Long Way From Home
    3. Analogue Test Oct 16
    4. Fun With The System
    5. Dressing Up In Other People’s Clothes
    6. To Dream Again
    7. There Will Come A Time – Instrumental
    8. Tiny Foldable Cities – Kareful Remix



May 25 , Belfast, BBC Music Biggest Weekend, Titanic Slipways


11 Moscow, Bosco Fresh Festival

29 Brighton Racecourse

30 Hull, Zebedee’s Yard


13 Beat-Herder Festival

14 Barcelona, Cruilla Festival

28 Margate, Dreamland

29 Camp Bestival, Big Top


3 Dekmantel, Amsterdam Holland

5 Dublin, Beat Yard Festival

11 Gateshead, Sage


01 Bristol, Downs Festival

08 Birmingham, Shiiine On Genting Arena – 1 day festival


18 Minehead, Shiiine On Butlins Weekender


15 London, Hammersmith Apollo

18 Sheffield, Academy

19 Cambridge, Corn Exchange

20 Manchester, Apollo

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.