[metaslider id=35897] These tours for small groups, will explore the passageways underneath Brighton’s most iconic landmark on a regular basis.
The tour, which lasts around 45 minutes, offers a behind the scenes glimpse of the areas of the building not normally open to the public, the areas most used by the staff.
The main tunnel, built in 1821, is 60 metres long and runs from the Pavilion to the Dome. As well as being used to ferry staff unseen below his glorious palace it was also used by the Prince of Wales himself (later George IV) to visit his riding school and stables (now Brighton Dome) in privacy.
Visitor Services Officer Meg Hogg, who will run the tours with colleague Geoff Greenwood as part of Royal Pavilion & Museums’ Workforce Development Scheme, said:
“Visitors will discover more about life below stairs for Royal Pavilion servants, from the rat catcher to George IV’s principal private secretary. The tour ends with a visit to the tunnel which led to George’s royal stables and riding school, before emerging in what is now Brighton Museum.”
The Museum’s new Workforce Development Scheme creates greater opportunities for staff to develop personally and professionally by taking part in placements in different areas than that which they usually work within.
NB: It’s important to note that the tour is underground, and includes areas which have low ceilings and/or are dimly lit. There are also areas with uneven flooring as much of the original flooring remains. Children must also be accompanied by an adult at all times and the tour is not suitable for buggies or wheelchairs.
This event is running on selected dates between 9 May 2016 and 15 August 2016. It is next occurring on 18 July 2016 at 5:45 pm.