Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

Women’s world cup 2023 – Teams, schedule and fixtures

The 2023 Women’s World Cup is set to take place in Australia and New Zealand, from July 20 to August 20. This landmark event marks the first Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams, competing across eight groups. England has been assigned to Group D, while the Republic of Ireland finds itself in Group B, sharing the spotlight with the host nation, Australia.

Fast-forward to July 6, 2023. The focus is now on the English and Irish teams, as they gear up for the upcoming Women’s World Cup, taking place down under in Australia and New Zealand. Here’s what you need to know before the tournament kicks off.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup is set to be hosted by Australia and New Zealand – a first for any Women’s World Cup. The games commence on July 20, with the grand finale scheduled for August 20 in Sydney’s Accor Stadium. The US, the defending champions, aim to make history by becoming the first team to win the tournament three consecutive times.

This Women’s World Cup is also a first in terms of participant numbers, as 32 teams prepare to compete, a significant increase from the 24 countries that participated in the 2019 edition.

The national teams confirmed to compete in the 2023 tournament include Australia, New Zealand, China, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, Vietnam, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia, Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, United States, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. The last three slots were secured by Haiti, Portugal, and Panama after they emerged victorious in their respective groups at the inter-confederation play-off tournament in February.

The draw saw the 32 teams divided into four pots based on the FIFA Women’s World Rankings as of October 13. Pot One consisted of both hosts Australia and New Zealand, the six highest-ranked teams, which include England and the current champions USA. The Republic of Ireland found its place in Pot Three.

The highly anticipated Women’s World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and fans from around the globe are eagerly awaiting the thrilling matches and intense competition. As excitement builds, women’s World Cup 2023 betting sites are emerging as popular platforms for fans to engage in sports betting and support their favorite teams. These dedicated betting sites offer a range of options for enthusiasts to place bets on matches, individual player performances, and even tournament outcomes. With user-friendly interfaces, comprehensive coverage of the tournament, and competitive odds, women’s World Cup 2023 betting sites provide a convenient and immersive experience for fans who want to add an extra layer of excitement to this prestigious international event.

The schedule commences with the group stage on July 20, concluding on August 3, after which group winners and runners-up advance to the round of 16, held from August 5 to August 8. Quarter-finals will take place in Wellington, Auckland, Brisbane, and Sydney on August 11 and 12. The semi-finals are slated for August 15 in Auckland, and August 16 at the Accor Stadium in Sydney, which will also be the venue for the final match on August 20. A third-place play-off will occur on August 19 in Brisbane.


Group A

New Zealand

Group B

Republic of Ireland

Group C

Costa Rica

Group D


Group E

The Netherlands

Group F


Group G

South Africa

Group H

Korea Republic

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.